Alkaline Foods

by Sheila

photo: worldhealth.net

I recently had a reading with the lovely Julie Hasen Intuitive and she mentioned that I had the potential to become acidic and should up my intake of alkaline foods.

I have heard of the whole acid-akaline food thing before but never really gave it much thought because I thought I ate enough healthy foods to counteract any acidic substances I would consume.

However, the past few months I have been busy with weddings 4 to be exact (and another 3 to go!), celebrated several birthdays, and had nights out with friends that I haven’t been as strict with my diet.  I’ve eaten foods that I’m allergic too—who can pass up wedding cake? And birthday cake?  and other acid-forming foods so, I guess I can see how I have the potential to become acidic.

First thing I did, research acid alkaline foods.  You can google acid-alkaline food charts and receive a lot of information, but it can be confusing because what you think might be an acid, e.g. lemon actually has an alkalinizing effect on your body.

As a general rule of thumb, all vegetables, especially greens, are alkalizing.  Meat, dairy, coffee, alcohol, and sugar are acidifying.  Things like fruit, grains, and nuts tend to be neutral to mildly acidic.

I’ve created a chart to depict the information I’ve found on acid-alkaline foods.  The foods highlighted in green are high alkaline and the foods, highlighted in red are high acid-forming, all others are moderate in their category.

It’s best to aim for 80% alkaline foods and 20% acid-forming foods.  So if you imagine your plate, a little more that 3/4 will be filled with veggies and the rest with other foods.

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to try to follow these guidelines and incorporate the top ten alkaline foods (see below) into my daily diet.  I’ll let you know how I do!

Top 10 Alkaline Foods

  1. Grasses- Alfalfa, Barely, Dog, Kamut, Wheat
  2. Cumber
  3. Sprouts- alfalfa, broccoli, radish, soy
  4. Sea Vegetables- kelp
  5. Sprouted Chia seeds
  6. Spinach
  7. Parsley
  8. Broccoli
  9.  Kale
  10. Lemons
