Magnesium, the Chill Pill

by Sheila

Hello everyone, Happy Hump Day!  Actually, it used to bug me when people tell me Happy Hump Day at work, but this week it seems I’m happy to get over that midweek ‘hump.’

I’ve been feeling kind of frazzled lately and have been dealing with some not so fun car stuff.  I banged up the side of my car pretty bad. Ouch!

In addition to hitting the side of my car, my power window on my driver side door stopped working (and it was rolled down, brrr it’s been cold)

I’ve been running back and forth between work and different car places trying to get estimates, wheel alignments, and body work done and it’s been a little stressful.  Oh did, I mention that it’s that time of the month for me too?

But it’s all good and I’ve been dealing with everything and will have everything fixed soon.  For weeks like this one, I always reach for magnesium.

Magnesium is a supplement that is vital to many bodily processes and helps balance calcium levels.  Magnesium  benefits women especially because it helps relieve symptoms of menopause, premenstrual syndrome (PMS), and minimizes risk of premature labor.  Read below for other benefits of magnesium.

Magnesium Benefits

  • Relieves stress
  • Aids and regulates the body’s use of calcium, and may reverse osteoporosis
  • Assists in bone and teeth formation
  • Prevents cardiovascular disease
  • Regulates high blood pressure
  • Regulates cholesterol production and modulate insulin sensitivity
  • Treats migraines, insomnia, and depression

As you can see, the benefits of magnesium are quite extensive.  While magnesium is available in certain foods like nuts, seeds, and bran, I find it beneficial to supplement my diet with a magnesium supplement.

Screen Shot 2013-01-16 at 11.12.05 AM

When looking for a magnesium supplement, make sure it doesn’t contain a lot of fillers.  Buy powdered magnesium or capsules to avoid binders.

My favorites magnesium supplement is Natural Calm Vitality.  It comes in powdered form and is flavored with natural flavors and stevia.  I mix a couple teaspoons with water and drink in the evening before bed.  It helps me to unwind and fall asleep.

Just remember,when you start supplementing with magnesium to start slow and take a little (half a teaspoon) until your body adjusts before gradually taking the full dosage.

Hope you guys have a have a great rest of the week!

